Skip to content

Advent!

December 1, 2013

It’s advent time again! My favorite time of year. This year the boys got Lego Star Wars advent calendars which they are very excited about.  We also do this super sweet online advent calendar by Jacquie Lawson. It’s very Downton Abbey!  But my favorite one and the one that really is the reason that I love advent so much us our Activity Advent! It’s just a nice way to remember each day to slow down and spend time with the boys. This years activities will be pretty much the same as the last few years.  We do art projects, we decorate, we bake, we make gifts, we donate toys and food, we play, the list goes on.  I can’t wait to get started!

P1100302

This year I also put together this book cipher advent for our nephew. He’s too old for the toy ones and loves books so this has been a fun way for me to still give him the advent experience plus a book and a gift certificate (shhhh, don’t tell him). First you need a book. This year I got him William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily a New Hope. (By the way, this is a fun book. It is the first Star Wars movie told in iambic pentameter!)

P1100204

Next I wrote him a simple letter with a gift certificate code using a cipher that is based on this book. Since this book is written as a play, the cipher is Act, Scene, and Line. So each letter had an Act, Scene, and Line number assigned to it. You figure out each letter and then you know the word.

P1100203

I then cut the letter up and wrapped and numbered each one. Each day you get a new part of the letter to figure out. And if I’ve done it right, the letter and the code for the gift certificate should slowly unfold.

P1100209

I hope he likes it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2014 9:52 PM

    I’m just catching up here after taking December off from the computer – and WOW!! This is AMAZING! You have such a thoughtful and creative take on advent. We do an “activity” thing with the kids, too, and this year we also used the Sparkle Stories advent calendar — http://www.sparklestories.com/ — the guys loved it. It has inspired me to try and do some “advent magic” for them next year – we already do activities, but to make it even more ‘special’ I guess. Sounds like what you guys are doing already! (Also – did you make the mitten string or buy it? I think I remember seeing it on your blog last year! I love it.)

    • January 16, 2014 7:54 AM

      Thanks! I bought the mitten string a while back and it’s perfect for making your own advent. When the boys were younger it was often a little car (for O) or even a teething biscuit (when H was a baby). But now I just fill it with activities. I really find that our family does best with simple, at home activities and I have a few new ideas for next year that I think will fit right in (Christmas Lego challenge, Christmas Science experiment)! I’ve never heard of Sparkle Stories, it looks so cute! We’ll have to try it out. And I can’t wait to hear about your month off from the computer. I can imagine that you were wiped out after all those blog posts in November:)

Leave a Reply

