Skip to content

WIP: A Baby Blanket and Unstructured Nature Time

June 26, 2013

While Sam has been at school, the boys and I have been doing summer time activities. I’ve also had a lot more time at night to work on knitting and crochet projects. Here is what I’ve been working on recently. It is the Neat Ripple pattern by Lucy from Attic24. It really is a great pattern and this one will end up as a baby blanket.

P1080660P1080666

I’ve also been reading this interesting book Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv which helped inspire the No Child Left Inside movement. In it he talks about how most children play inside (on screens) and don’t have enough unstructured playtime in nature. Being a nature lover myself, this is something that I feel strongly about.  And although we do outdoor things frequently, this book has inspired me to get out more this summer with the boys, especially finding time for unstructured play in nature.

P1080510

Last week we went to the Tilden Botanic Garden. We go there every few months and it is always a fun outing. There are lots of  paths that run all over the garden which the boys like to explore. Sometimes they slow down just long enough to look at a plant but mainly they love careening down all the paths, crossing the bridges, and running in separate directions from each other just when I am trying to find them. Our favorite place is all the way at the end of the garden where there is a stream. The boys did what they do best, and settled into unstructured play in nature.

P1080498

P1080516

P1080518 P1080523

 

Getting into nature and especially giving the boys unstructured time to play is definitely a WIP too. Sometimes it can be hard to find the time and place to do this, but its something that I would like to keep working on and I know the boys love it!

P1080543 P1080557

What goofy kids!

P1080550P1080559 P1080560P1080561

 

 

Linking in here and here today.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2013 3:07 PM

    Your neat ripples are lovely, and I can see the inspiration of nature in the colors. Thanks for mentioning this book, too. Kids lose a lot when they don’t have a chance to play freely outside. I’m inspired to get out and play myself. 🙂

  2. June 26, 2013 6:17 PM

    What a great way to spend your days! We also find it a challenge to offer the kids enough unstructured time out of doors, especially for the part of the week that we live in the city. I’m slowly learning that right after real fast is really the best time to head out, before we get ourselves dug into other activities and before I lose my resolve.

  3. June 29, 2013 6:36 PM

    Inspiring post. I love thinking about getting outside as “work in progress” – a challenge, a practice, a hobby, all in one.

Trackbacks

  1. Hanging with my boys | Ducklings in a Row
  2. FO: Ripple, Rainbow and a baby Fox | Ducklings in a Row

Leave a Reply

