Skip to content

FO: Serendipity Saved!

February 22, 2013
tags: , ,

P1040625P1040622

Waaaaay back in June, I joined the Crafts from the Cwtch June Shawl Knit Along. The project was the Color Affection Shawl and I had three beautiful colors of Madelinetosh Pashmina to work with. The yarn even matched my new needles. The whole project seems bound for perfection. I was so confident that I named my project Serendipity.

P1040731 P1040732

As I knit the endless garter stitch I thought about how amazing it would be when it was finished and how I would wear it all the time and how it would change me into a woman who could pull off wearing a shawl! I knit all I could during June, but then we went back east for my cousin’s wedding, and then on our Westy trip, so it wasn’t until August that I was able to finish it up. When I bound off I thought, this was it!

P1060687P1060688

But then I really didn’t like it:( It was waaaay too big, I felt silly wearing it, and wrote a ranty post about it.

Fast forward several months. I have been going through my WIP basket either frogging things or finishing them (very cathartic) and knew I had to do something about my Serendipi-Don’t. I ripped back to the end of the second part, added a few more rows of the green and voila!

P1070595P1070607

Love it! Of course its not perfect… There is a big lump in the grey section from doing the YOs between the first two stitches but after a nice blocking, its in relatively good shape, super soft and I love it!

P1070604 P1070609

Serendipity Saved! My Ravelry notes here. Still not sure I can pull off a shawl.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Chrisknitsb permalink
    February 22, 2013 8:19 AM

    It is lovely. I love the look of the CA shawl, but it’s just too large. I guess I could modify the pattern, but with too many other lovelies to knit, I don’t have the desire. And, you CAN wear shawls. Just wrap it around you and go. There is no right or wrong way to do it. Go for it.

  2. Tash permalink
    February 22, 2013 8:32 PM

    We need a shot of you modeling the shawl, now.

  3. textbooksandteaparties permalink
    February 24, 2013 3:50 PM

    Gorgeous!!

  4. March 7, 2013 7:04 AM

    I have no doubt you can wear the shawl! And it is chilly enough today that maybe you should 🙂

Leave a Reply

