Skip to content

WIP: Knitter’s Block

September 12, 2012

I’m suffering from major knitters block these days. At night, when the kids are in bed and I could be knitting away, I sit and stare at my projects and don’t know what to do. I pick one up, look at it for a while, huff, put it down, pick up needles and some yarn, cast on a few stitches, rip them out, look up patterns on Ravelry, pull out different yarn, different needles, then crochet hooks. Arg… Part of the problem is that I have too many WIPs clogging up my WIP basket. Here are two of the worst offenders (the pictures are terrible only making matters worse):

First up my Saroyan:

 

 

I started this about a year ago and haven’t made much progress. My knitting is much better now and when I look at it I can see lots of little mistakes. The needles are terrible but I’m worried that switching will affect how it knits up…

 

 

But I love the yarn (Malabrigo Rios in Azul) and I like the pattern (Saroyan) so I’m feeling conflicted about it.

Second up is a real heartbreaker, my Serendipity:

 

I had such high hopes for this shawl when I started it back in June for a KAL with Sarah from Crafts from the Cwtch. I love the yarn (MadelineTosh Pashmina in Mineral, Tern, and Well Water) and had new needles that matched. It all seemed so perfect, serendipitous in fact. But we were away for the last two weeks in June and most of July so I didn’t finish until a few weeks ago and I have to say I’m very disappointed…  Its very scrunched and bunched even though I added a YO between the first and second stitches. It has the funny bump that other knitters mentioned. The colors are lovely and go well together but they are so similar its hard to see the different stripes. And to top it off, its HUGE. I will never wear it, which would be a waste of yarn.

 

Phew! Glad I got that off my chest. Unfortunately, I think I know what I need to do. I’ll keep you posted.

Linking in here and here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

