Skip to content

June Shawl Knitalong AKA Serendipity

June 3, 2012
tags: , ,

There are definite trends among knitters and one that is hot right now is the Color Affection shawl by Veera Välimäki. It feels like every knitting blog that I read is talking about the Color Affection Shawl (The Yarn Harlot wrote about the infectiousness of this shawl on her blog and lovingly calls it the ‘color infection’). One of my other favorite knitting blogs is written by the lovely Sarah from Crafts from the Cwtch. I have been thinking on and off about using this pattern with the Madelinetosh Pashmina that is burning a hole in my stash. And since I bought the pattern during my pattern buying frenzy a few months ago, when Sarah revealed that the June Shawl Knitalong will be the Color Affection Shawl, it felt like fate. So after a few false starts, I cast on June 1st.

Madelinetosh Pashmina in Well water, Tern, and Mineral.

Meet Serendipity:

I don’t usually name my projects as I’m knitting but this one has a name: Serendipity.

1) Sam bought me the Mineral and Well water skeins for my birthday, without knowing that I already had the Tern colorway in my stash… serendipitous.

2) I already had the yarn and the pattern when Sarah revealed the June Shawl Knitalong…serendipitous.

3) I wanted a set of interchangeable knitting needles. After much deliberation I settled on the Knitter’s Pride set which has color coded knitting needles. I was having trouble with finding the right gauge for this project and after trying several needles, the size that worked best was the US 4. Can you guess what color they are?  Aquamarine, which matches the yarn! Serendipitous!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2012 3:26 PM

    That is indeed, totally serendipitous! Love the colours – it looks like it’ll be fabulous!

    As for your question, I’m keeping track of the repeats on paper – I mark the pattern after each row, as I’m not good at mental counts when there are usually 2 children constantly interrupting me 🙂

    Looking forward to seeing your progress on this (I’ll include a Mister Linky on the blog on Tuesday too) and thank you so much for your kind words.

    Sarah xxxx

  2. June 5, 2012 9:36 AM

    Ooh, loving the serendipity!! This is going to be a magical shawl 🙂 Absolutely gorgeous colours. Enjoy!

  3. June 5, 2012 5:24 PM

    Such pretty colours, it’s going to be gorgeous. Happy knitting x

  4. June 6, 2012 12:28 AM

    Happy knitting. I love your colours.

  5. June 6, 2012 3:30 AM

    thats scrummy !!! Im not brave enough to use two strands so in awe of you totally 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. WIP: Serendipity Update « Ducklings in a Row
  2. WIP: Knitter’s Block « Ducklings in a Row
  3. FO: Serendipity Saved! « Ducklings in a Row

Leave a Reply

