Skip to content

Knitting Geekery

April 3, 2012
tags:

Here’s a little about my knitting history. I learned to knit English style, where you hold the yarn in your right hand and throw it over the needle. But being a crocheter, where you hold your yarn in your left hand, I decided to switch to continental style, where you also through hold your yarn in your left hand (I’m sure this only applies to right-handed people). It took a while after I made the switch, but I am now a proficient continental knitter. But purling has been harder. I dread long purling segments and  have gravitated towards patterns that knit in the round. I kept hoping that I’d get better at purling continental style, but it was slow. But then I saw this post by the lovely Kat of Slugs on the Refrigerator and had my knitting world rocked too! Kat had her world rocked by something else entirely, but what got me was her mention of Norwegian Purl. I had never heard of it before, looked at the video, tried it myself, and had my knitting world officially rocked. I exclaimed, out loud, ‘Holy Shit’. That is how crazy this was. I told my husband, that is was like I had been doing it my whole life or in a past life or something. He said I was a knitting nerd and here I am telling the blogosphere instead! Hopefully this will get me out of the knitting/crocheting rut I have been in…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna Stein permalink
    April 4, 2012 1:27 PM

    I’ve never seen that technique. I knit holding the yarn in my left hand, but not really continental. The way I form my purls is different. It is much faster and in my opinion easier, but it lays the loop on the needle in the opposite direction. The only effect of this is that if I am working on a pattern with decreases, I have to do them differently from the conventional way in order to have them facing the way they are supposed to. I can show you sometime if you want.

  2. ducklingsinarow permalink*
    April 4, 2012 2:02 PM

    Anna,

    Hey! I wonder if the technique you use is Russian Purl? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AXcp8WPs47U I’ll have to give it a try too! Hope you are doing well, Deia

  3. Anna Stein permalink
    April 4, 2012 4:09 PM

    Yes! That’s how I do it.

Leave a Reply

