Skip to content

Downton Abbey Project

February 29, 2012

I’ve had this idea percolating in my brain that seems to have come together at the perfect time. First of all, I’ve been wanting to watch Downton Abbey. I love period pieces and know that I’m going to love this one.  But I have been putting it off, so that I can really enjoy it. Does that make sense or does that make me crazy? Secondly, I’ve been wanting to knit or crochet something for me. Its one of my Resolutions for 2012 and I only have one cowl that I made for myself. Thirdly, March is my birthday month…

So, you put it all together and this is what I’ve come up with. I’m going to watch Downton Abbey while knitting or crocheting something for myself during the month of March! Phew!

I’m not yet sure about that its going to be. I’ve been looking at my Pinterest boards and on Ravelry for inspiration. At some point I want to knit myself a sweater, but I’m not sure that I’m ready for that right now. So that leaves a shawl or a cowl. Shawls seems more Pre-WWI, but will I wear one? Here are some patterns I’m thinking about: Cardiff Cowl from Lion Brand, Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief, the Calm Cowl, or the Honey Cowl. Any suggestions?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 7:19 AM

    Good for you. I just finished season two and loved every moment so I’m envious that you’re only just at the beginning. I love that you’ve decided to knit something for yourself — I vote for the honey cowl (a favorite) or the Age of Brass and Steam. Both are good tv knitting and yet produce a beautiful object. Enjoy!

  2. Tash permalink
    March 1, 2012 8:05 PM

    A poncho? Could you knit one of those? Warm, cozy, useful, easy-ish. You should splurge on luxury yarn, so you feel happy making and wearing it. A great March goal.

Leave a Reply

