Skip to content

12 Crafty Resolutions for 2012

January 4, 2012

A few days ago I posted about my regular resolutions.So far I think New Years Resolutions suck (but that is what I say every year). I start out so enthusiastically and then bomb. But I’ve learned that a year is a long time, and if you keep coming back to your resolutions, you just might actually achieve some of them. Moving on…

Here are 12 Crafty Resolutions for 2012:

1) Organizing goal: Figure out a better way to keep patterns, notes, ideas, etc…

2) Yarn goal: I know that my stash is not that big in the scheme of things, but I have a problem pairing together yarn that I already have and patterns that I want to make, so my yarn resolution is to buy only yarn for specific projects. And to only buy for one project at a time (this one might be really hard to do…)

3) Stash busting: Keep a yarn and WIP tally and blog about my progress (stay tuned!). A cursory check of my stash has 31 skeins or balls (no change since last time) in 15 different types of yarn, and three WIP (blanket, shawl, and scarf- which is not working out…)

4) Knitting goal: Move beyond simple patterns. Learn what all the stitch names are, like what the hell is stockinet stitch?

5) Socks: Learn how to knit socks.

6) Me: Make one big thing for myself! Like a sweater, jacket, or a shawl.

7) Blocking:By my calculation I have made over 18 baby blankets in the last few years, a few baby sweaters, and many hats. And I have never blocked a single garment… I just need to do it!

8) Something New: Learn a new skill or craft. I’m thinking about quilting…

9) Hair: Not really a crafty resolution, but I need some inpriration. Right now I have a four looks: high bun, low bun, ponytail, and down. I need some new looks!

10) Gift Goal: Make handmade gift for the whole family for next Christmas.

11) Kid Art: Do some awesome art projects with the boys. Once a week? Twice a month?
12) Cooking Goal: Learn a new cooking technique, pie crust or candy making are my top choices.
This isn’t really a goal, but most important is to have fun! Crafting is supposed to be about having fun and making things for people that I love. Here is to 2012!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 5:24 PM

    These are terrific goals. You’re pretty ambitious but I like that … learning new skills keeps life interesting .. and fun! As for your hair, it sounds like you have more variations than someone with short hair so I think you’re good!

  2. ducklingsinarow permalink*
    January 4, 2012 8:34 PM

    Thanks Evelyn. I know its ambitious…but exciting as well! Happy 2012!

  3. January 6, 2012 5:38 PM

    I love your crafty resolutions! The hair one especially, LOL. Pie crusts are easy peasy, I can send you an awesome recipe if you want. I think your goals are a great mix of reasonable and challenging, I bet you’ll meet a bunch of them by the time the year is over. Isn’t this time of year so exciting? (Until you realize in a couple of weeks that you suck and that you have totally given up, but no no, let’s focus on the positive!) Clean slate, fresh start, new motivation!

    • ducklingsinarow permalink*
      January 6, 2012 8:24 PM

      Yes! Focus on the positive! And I’d love your pie crust recipe. The last one I made was ok, but not great and looked terrible.

Trackbacks

  1. ~reflections and resolutions~ | Ducklings in a Row

Leave a Reply

