Skip to content

Happy Advent!

December 1, 2011
tags: ,

I love advent. Its probably my favorite time of year. I grew up with the little picture calendars and chocolate calendars. My favorite chocolate calendar of all time are the ones made by Harbor Sweets. I love their chocolates and get these for my cousins’ kids who are teenagers.

For the boys this year we have three calendars. They don’t know how lucky they are! First, are the Playmobil advent calendars. O got the knight tournament set (Grandmamie will be proud and probably remark on the historical accuracy or lack there of!) and H got the ponies (from last year). I really wanted to get the dinosaur excavation one, maybe they will still have it next year (most likely I’ll keep it for myself!). Second, is the Jacky Larson London advent calendar for the computer. These are really fun animated Christmas scenes that are perfect for little kids.

Third, our Activity Advent. This is the one that I am most excited about. Every year I pick some fun Christmas activities to do with the family and each day the boys get to see what the activity is for that day. Here are some of the activities that we will do this month:

  • Unwrap Special Gift
  • Polar Express Train Ride
  • Christmas Party
  • Christmas Festival
  • Make Cards
  • Make Gift Tags
  • Write a Letter to Santa
  • Make Gifts for your Teachers
  • Bake and Decorate Christmas Cookies
  • Have Breakfast for Dinner
  • Hot Cocoa
  • Make a Special Dessert
  • Listen to Christmas Music
  • Decorate Christmas Tree
  • Set up Christmas Lights
  • Donate a Toy
  • Donate Food
  • Wrap Presents
  • Go see Christmas Lights After Dark
  • Make Christmas Ornaments
  • Special Dinner Out
  • Watch a Christmas Movie with Popcorn
  • Merry-Go-Round Christmas Display
  • Read the Night Before Christmas and open one gift

Some of these are specific adventures that we have planned on the calendar that I have designated as the Advent Activity for that day, like the Christmas Festival and the Polar Express Train Ride! Some of these get repeated (hot cocoa!) and some we will never get to. In the past I wrote the activities on little slips of paper, but this year I printed them up on some oval labels, put them on construction paper, and cut them out.

I slipped the cards into this advent bunting thing I bought a while back at Cost Plus. I would love to make my own Advent Calendar at some point. There are so many cute ideas out there on the web, but this will do for now.

And here we go! Happy Advent!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 5:44 PM

    This is awesome! I wish I had seen this before I made our own activity advent, I totally half-assed it. Will definitely come back to steal some of your ideas next Advent!

  2. November 28, 2012 12:27 PM

    Very sweet. I was inspired by Wendolonia to do my own with wooden boxes but this will be the first year of it. Eep. http://www.rookiemoms.com/create-the-best-advent-calendar/

Trackbacks

  1. Its Advent Time again! « Ducklings in a Row
  2. Advent! | Ducklings in a Row
  3. The First Day of Advent! | Ducklings in a Row
  4. Avent 2015! | Ducklings in a Row

Leave a Reply

